All German Music Concert

J. S. Bach, Brandenburg Concerti  #3 & #6

J. Brahms, Piano Quintet in F m


Music of Germany

The Miami Chamber Players

Concert will feature the Miami Chamber Players performing music by the German composers J. S. Bach and J. Brahms.

Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048 & No. 6 in B flat major, BWV 1051, The Brandenburg concertos by Johann Sebastian Bach are a collection of six instrumental works presented by Bach to Christian Ludwig, margrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt, in 1721. They are widely regarded as among the finest musical compositions of the Baroque era.

The Piano Quintet in F minor, opus 34, by Johannes Brahms was completed during the summer of 1864 and published in 1865. It was dedicated to Her Royal Highness the Princess Anne of Hesse. Like most piano quintets, it is written for piano and string quartet (two violins, viola and cello). Both piano and strings play an equally important role throughout this work.

The Miami Chamber Players is a professional ensemble of rotating Miami-based award-winner musicians who get together to play the world's best chamber music in intimate spaces. Musicians for this performance include: Tomas Cotik, Ashley Garritson, Maria Assunta Bucco, Georgeta Spiridon, Daniel Andai, Viera Borisova, Anne Chicheportiche, Mikaho Somekawa & Adolfo Vidal, among others.


Thu., Sep 13 at 8:00 PM
FIU Wertheim Concert Hall
10975 SW 17th St Miami Florida 33199